A New Father’s Day

This is the first Father’s Day without my Dad. He passed away last October. A close friend of nearly 40 years also lost his Dad 2 months later in December. I am lucky to still have my father-in-law who is 86.

When I was feeling sad Christmas day, missing my father, my father-in-law told me he was my Dad too. Lucky me to have a father and mother-in law who have cared so much for me.

I was feeling Fatherless initially, but I went to church this morning, I am a sketchy Catholic, the last time I went was Easter. When I do go to church, I rush around, getting there when it’s just starting.

This morning, I took time, made more of an effort. I am a working girl, on the weekends I give myself time off, no make-up, just powder and lipstick, unless we have something to do.

In church, the priest said the mass was dedicated to all the fathers, living and deceased. Two of the most important men in my life are in heaven, my  beloved men, my Father and Grandfather.

Made myself presentable for my Dad, grandfather and my husband. Father to my beautiful sons. We have 2 sons, 29 and 22.

This post is dedicated to all the dads, grandfathers, great-grandfathers, step-fathers, uncles, brothers and friends, to all of you who stepped up and treated a child with love and care.

I realized I am not fatherless, I feel my father all around me, and my grandfather. I think they would want me to try to be my best self. I know I fail, I will continue to try to make them proud.

Any insight would be welcomed. Just going where the wind blows me.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

